Posts Tagged MLS Cup

Real Salt Lake Takes MLS Cup From LA Galaxy in Penalty Shootout

Posted by on Monday, 23 November, 2009

andy-williams-in-traffic, originally uploaded by marc_tacoma.
Andy Williams in Traffic

Real Salt Lake takes the MLS Cup 2009 from LA Galaxy in a 5-4 penalty shootout after a 1-1 tie in 120 minutes of regulation.

MLS Power Rankings Going Into MLS Cup Playoffs

Posted by on Tuesday, 27 October, 2009

Here are the final Power Rankings from going into the MLS Cup Playoffs. The Columbus Crew stand atop the rankings with LA Galaxy taking the second spot and one first-place vote.

Note from Power Ranking points are compiled from ballots submitted by a panel of MLS experts. First-place votes are in parentheses. Power Rankings Top 3

Rank Last Team Breakdown Points
1 1 Columbus Crew A second consecutive Supporters’ Shield is certainly a welcome prize in Columbus, but along with that prize comes a Conference Semifinal opening leg at Rio Tinto Stadium, unquestionably one of MLS’s toughest road venues.
Last: Lost to NE, 1-0. Next: Sat. at RSL.
88 (5)
2 2 Los Angeles Galaxy A convincing win over what had been a hot San Jose side gave the Galaxy the No. 1 seed in the Western Conference, as well as a nice segue into what’s sure to be one of the most heated playoff matchups in league history.
Last: Beat SJ, 2-0. Next: Sun. at CHV.
85 (1)
3 3 Houston Dynamo Dominic Kinnear could not have been too pleased to see a 3-0 lead nearly disappear at The Home Depot Center, but after just one win in seven prior league games, the victory was a welcome sight for Houston.
Last: Beat CHV, 3-2. Next: Thurs. at SEA.

About MLS: Major League Soccer is the top-flight professional soccer league in the United States and was founded in 1996, after the country hosted the 1994 FIFA World Cup. MLS kicked off its 14th campaign on March 19, 2009 with the League’s 15th and newest team Seattle Sounders FC making their debut. The new club in Seattle has been a resounding success, averaging nearly 31,000 fans per match. MLS continues to grow as the Philadelphia Union will begin play in 2010 and teams in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada and Portland, Oregon will become the 17th and 18th clubs in 2011.